NCMSA10: Session Plans

So tomorrow I leave for NCMSA10 and I thought I’d give you all an overview of the sessions I’m either attending or debating on attending. If you have recommendations of things you’d like to see shared here at The Technorate Teacher, please let me know. For some session times I haven’t decided what I’ll attend yet, so there may be more than one session listed. Hopefully some of our other attendees will be creating digital copies of their notes and I’ll add as much as possible to the blog. Here’s what my schedule looks like:

  • Session 1: Education in Japan OR Inquiry in Physical Science: The Car and Ramp
  • General Session: Todd Whitaker Keynote
  • Session 2: I’m presenting about IMPACT and Tech in 20 at our school, depending on power availability I may be live streaming this session
  • Session 3: The Future is Now: 3D Immersive Virtual Worlds in Middle School OR It’s a Wonderful Life
  • Session 4: 12 Fixes for Broken Grades OR This We Believe OR Promoting Harmony: YA Development and Classroom Practice OR Who’s Afraid of Technology (hmmm…not sure how I’ll be in 4 places at once…the last session is being presented by @jldrury so maybe I can get a brief interview w/ her another time)
  • Session 5: Hands On: Real World Lessons for Middle School Classrooms OR Teaching Science through Good Books
  • Tuesday Session 1: Middle school Management Magic
  • Regional Meeting
  • Session 2: Wild and Wacky Research without Copying OR A School’s Journey Toward Globalization
  • Session 3: Formative Assessments in the Classroom – A Reality Check OR Lesson Planning for the 21st Century…No Big Deal
  • Closing Keynote: Debbie Silver

Looking forward to this one…as you can tell, I’m either rather indecisive or it’s just that there aren’t a lot of sessions that totally jump out at me. I’m not sure which it is, but I’m trying to branch out beyond technology related sessions. Hope you all are looking forward to lots of middle school related posts in the next few days!

Leave a Reply

