NCMSA10: Preview

While most of my NC Twitter feed gears up for NCTIES this week, I’m looking forward to two weeks from today for the start of the 2010 NCMSA Conference.  This will be the second year in a row I’ve attended and I’m looking forward to sharing tons of resources here on the blog from the sessions I attend.  A few things I’m looking forward to:

  • Keynotes from Todd Whitaker and Debbie Silver – I’ve heard Debbie Silver keynote previously, actually at NCMSA a few years ago, but she’s always a blast.  I got to talk with her for a little while at the MiddleTalk booth in Indianapolis for NMSA09, so it will be good to see her again here in North Carolina.  I’ve never heard Todd Whitaker before, so I need to do a little background reading before his opening keynote on Monday.
  • Presenting on Tech in 20 – Our school Tech Facilitator and I will be discussing the professional development model we’ve been using this year in a session Monday morning. She will be talking about our monthly IMPACT meetings and I will be talking about the weekly Tech in 20 sessions.  I’ve thoroughly enjoyed having the opportunity to try out PD on tech tools through the Tech in 20 sessions, so I feel great about sharing that program with others around the state.  Knowing middle school teachers, 20 minutes is about the maximum attention span we can give to a topic, so I think it’s a great model!
  • Being back in Greensboro – As a graduate of UNC-Greensboro, it’s always fun to head back to the old stomping grounds.  Definitely hitting up Yum Yum’s for a couple of dogs and Smokey Bones for some “universal” BBQ…A trip over to campus to see everything new that’s been built since I graduated…

Check back soon for my preliminary thoughts on the sessions I plan to attend.

NCMSA10 Conference Program (PDF)

3 Responses

  1. Any plans to incorporate Twitter or other social media as an extension of the conference?

    • Definitely will be working to incorporate Twitter myself and I know John will be using the NCMSA10 hashtag as well. May email him and recommend the hashtag be mentioned during the opening Keynote to try and get more folks using it/thinking about it. There’s a good chance that I will be livestreaming my session if I can find an extra power outlet. May look into something like CoverItLive for the Keynotes. Will be interesting to see if I’m going it alone again this year or if there really is an increase in networking.

  2. Todd,

    I am a bit jealous. I’d love to be in Greensboro! It is a great conference!!

    Would love to hear you and Debbie. .. and Todd.

    Travel safely and have a wonderful conference.
    Rebecca

Leave a Reply

