“Scare-Free” Internet Safety

Our school will be providing a parent night in a couple of weeks where some of the staff will be discussing with parents the topic of “Keeping Your Children Safe Online.”  I have experienced and seen reports of enough of these sessions that have turned into fear-mongering sessions that I would really like to see something different in our building.  Tonight I sent out a request for the ONE site folks would share if they had the opportunity to show a non-scare tactic Internet Safety site to middle school parents.  I got a number of responses back and thought I would share them here for anyone else looking:

Would love to know of other sites you all have used in similar presentations at your schools.

One Response

  1. This is a video I made for the same type of demonstration earlier this year to MS Parents. We eventually used it with the all the kids as part of a character ed thang.

    http://edupln.ning.com/video/digital-footprints-your-new

    If you email me at edtechsteve@gmail.com I’ll send you the original file- it’s about 10 MB.

    I’m like you- I prefer the optimistic/opportunity side of the conversation!

Leave a Reply

